Skip to content

Could you BEE more cliched?

April 10, 2010

As an Australian, you come to London and people say things such as: ‘oh you’re from the land of things that can seriously f*** you up.’ I always play up to this. ALWAYS! ‘I’ve been catching spiders since I was five,’ I’ll brag. Although that statement is true. It’s what you get for having a mum and two baby brothers who are arachnophobic pussies (sorry Tom and Jack – I know you’re big, muscled things now so please don’t hurt me). I also did my first dive in a shark tank when I was 20 which is also something you can impress Brits with. But the truth is, as a Sydneysider, I really don’t come in to contact with anything that could kill me. Unlike here, where in Summer I feel scared out of my mind about those bees. For people who haven’t come to UK, the bees here are like something out of a 1940s Japanese Horror film. They’re big and nasty and they make a beeline for you if you have anything remotely sweet. I’ve had one fly straight into my diet coke – yes, it was diet, the bees here don’t even mind sugar free – sweetner will do.

Now let’s have a think, how many people per year would be injured by a bee sting (due to allergies or otherwise) vs the amount of Aussies who have been injured by a shark, spider or snake? I’ve got no mathematical proof about any of this of course but I wouldn’t been surprised if they’re are more bee-related injuries than Aussie shark/spider ones. Those bees are relentless little buggers and they’ve got an advantage over our dangerous Australian wildlife – wings.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. tillybud permalink
    April 10, 2010 11:20 am

    Which kind of bee do you mean? We have lots of varieties. I think you might be talking about bumble bees, the chubby ones. They won’t hurt you if keep still; probably mistaking you for an exotic flower. Did you know it is illegal to kill them? Better get an extra straw for this summer.

    http://thelaughinghousewife.wordpress.com

    PS Seriously impressed at your shark diving exploits.

    • April 11, 2010 9:03 pm

      Oh wow, didn’t realise there was lots of bee varieties. Well, the bumble bee sounds pretty sweet so I’m glad they’re not aggro.

      Oh, and I like your blog :)

  2. Chris permalink
    April 17, 2010 1:39 pm

    I noticed you apologised to Tom & Jack about being arachnophobic but not me, but I know I’m not as muscled as they are. Of course we never want the spiders killed – just relocated, That’s why we call on your services as spider catcher . Remember my motto has always been… “The only thing we have to fear is fear itself … and spiders”. Mum x

    • April 18, 2010 12:15 pm

      Mum, it’s less embarrassing for a woman to be arachnophobic. hehe. That’s why you didn’t get an apology. Hope you’re safe from those spiders. Love love xoxox

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

