Skip to content

Expat Sat: Shari from Australia

September 26, 2009

shari

When did you move to the UK and why?

I moved to the UK in early 2004 for a (extended) working holiday. I guess I was craving an adventure and felt I needed a new life experience. Initially I was going to travel to the US, but settled on the UK as the working visa conditions were more flexible. I’m so glad I made that choice!

What was your first weird experience?

Oh, there were so many. I previously thought that England and Australia would be the same culturally, but there were a lot of differences. I remember having some huge public transport issues, especially with those old buses where you just jump on the back. I didn’t know where to buy tickets so I was just getting around for free!

What do you miss the most about home?

I definitely missed the variety and quality of fresh fruit and vegetables that was available in Australia. And I missed having a burger with beetroot in it. It makes the burger.

You’re big on theatre. How does it compare?

Honestly, it doesn’t compare. The London theatre scene is huge and there are limitless opportunities to see unique and original work every night of the week. Having said that, the Sydney theatre scene is great for people to make contacts and get a start in the business. It’s very easy to “sink” in London if you don’t know where to start.

How do you find the night life?

The London nightlife is amazing. No matter how old you are or what type of music you like, there is something for everyone. I have to admit that I’ve had better nights out at my local pub in London than in popular Sydney clubs.

Who are your fave English bands/ writers?

I think England has no doubt produced some of the best musicians and writers in the world. I can pretty much track my favourite music from 1960 to today as being mostly British … The Beatles, David Bowie, The Cure, The Smiths. And my favourite English writer?  I will say Enid Blyton for feeding my childhood imagination.

Which B grade British celebrity do you love to hate?

I tend to be reading about Kerry Katona a lot. Why do I care about what’s going on in her life? I’m not sure.

What do you read on the tube?

I listen to my ipod instead to block out the noise of rowdy drunks!

Finish these sentences:

The best things about the UK are … the assortment of colourful characters you meet, the great live music scene, and the less expensive and better quality fashions.

The best thing to come out of England is … British humour.

The next prime minister of England should be … Hugh Grant. He’s already played the prime minister in Love Actually and we all know he’s good at talking his way out of sexual scandals.

Boris Johnson is … more entertainment value than the Lord Mayor of Sydney.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Alex permalink
    October 1, 2009 7:50 am

    I was thinking Hugh Grant for PM too! It just seems so believable!

  2. Shari permalink
    October 1, 2009 7:50 am

    There is definitely something PMish about him…

  3. Stephen isabirye permalink
    October 23, 2009 5:22 am

    I am glad to learn that you are a great ardent Enid Blyton fan. Accordingly, I am informing you that my book, The Famous Five: A Personal Anecdotage (www.bbotw.com) has just been published.

    Stephen Isabirye

  4. May 9, 2017 1:42 am

    An intleligent answer – no BS – which makes a pleasant change

Leave a Reply

