Skip to content

Eggs again, I’ll be bound

September 28, 2009

Chris Salkild writes a witty guest blog post on the English phenomenon of ham and eggs.

Don’t get me wrong, I have no objection to egg dishes forming part of my daily diet. A Salade Nicoise or Spanish omelette with the ladies who lunch…a frittata when eating al fresco…a fluffy cheese soufflé for dinner…they all go down a treat. But what is it with this English passion for eating bacon and eggs (or if they want to be a bit classier, ham and eggs) morning, noon and night?

On our recent trip to London there it was, what I’ve always considered purely breakfast fare, lurking on the luncheon menu of the local pub. Or was it just the jet lag playing tricks on me? Apparently not because days later it appeared again while we were dining at a very smart restaurant indeed.

Would madam like the baked fish served on a bed of wilted watercress with coriander, chilli and lime butter? Perhaps the slow-roasted chicken with baby vegetables and a red pepper ragout? Or how about ham and eggs? Sorry but I think that’s weird.

What’s more, my fears have been confirmed by Jeremy Clarkson. In a Timesonline article he informs us that all Poms really want is bacon and eggs for breakfast, lunch and supper and that it ‘works with ketchup just as well as it works with wine’. Trouble is what type of wine? A robust red, a cheeky little white, a bit of bubbly even? Or just play it safe and order an OJ instead?

Then there’s the dilemma of dessert. Following up bacon and eggs with Sticky Date Pudding smothered in Butterscotch Sauce doesn’t seem right somehow. Crème Brûlée would be eggs overload. Black Forest Gateau could be too rich. So what will it be, toast and jam all round?

by Chris Salkild

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Andy permalink
    September 28, 2009 11:55 pm

    I am with the Poms on this one Chris, I would gladly eat bacon and eggs for three meals a day ,plenty of Indonesian hot chilli sauce and all washed down with a pint of beer.

    • Anonymous permalink
      September 29, 2009 10:30 am

      Hiya Andy,
      OK I know I’m a lacto-ovo-vegetarium (i.e. one who eats our fishy friends occasionally) I still think bacon and eggs for dinner is weird. Hope you and your ever-growing tribe are thriving. Love Chris x

  2. Alexis permalink
    October 3, 2009 5:10 am

    I agree with Chris. As much I like some greasy eggs and bacon on a saturday morning or even lunch, dinner is taking it to a whole other level. But then again the english a weird like that. I should know my dad is one

Leave a Reply

