Skip to content

Expat Sat: CK from Singapore

October 10, 2009
When did you move to UK and why?

I moved to the UK in mid 2007. Well, Wife and I basically think that we need a change of scenery and here we are. I must say that the proximity to continental Europe helped quite a bit in our short getaways from London.

What was your first weird experience?

When I first saw a public urinal in Windmill Street off Shaftesbury Avenue after dinner one night (and I believe it’s still there every evening). Was so intrigued that I had to use it. Can’t blame me really.

What do you miss the most about home?

Ask any Singaporean and the unequivocal answer will be food. In fact, I wrote quite a bit about that in “Singaporean in London“. As Singapore is almost considered as a cultural melting pot of the races in the region, it’s inevitable they bring along their cuisine and there you have it – everything under one roof. A Londoner colleague of mine was rather amused when I said that there are fish and chips stalls back home that serve mash peas as well.

Anyway, I carried the love of eating over to London and did some reviews on some London restaurants. That led to the birth of “London Chow”.

Who are your fave English bands/ writers?

Without a question, it’s Neil Gaiman. You’ll be surprised at how many fans he has over at the other end of the world. My favorite is his “Neverwhere” and I could never forget how he depicted Knightsbridge as a bridge engulfed by the terror of the night, and how the Earl holds his court at Earl’s Court. It almost seemed surreal when I came over to London and encountered the various Tube stations mentioned in his novel.

Which B grade British celebrity do you love to hate?

Is Peaches considered as one? I can’t figure out what her talents are but she seems to be on the news all the time. Absolutely fascinating.

What do you read on the tube?

I would like to say the Wall Street Journal but… . anyway, a pal of mine actually did a study (during his trips on the Tube) on what commuters actually read on trains. Well, I am among the many who ponder over the latest gossip on London Lite.

Finish these sentences

The best things about the UK are … how the people can laugh about anything and everything. I think we take ourselves too seriously sometimes.

The best thing to come out of England is … fish and chips. The humble workers’ meal has literally defined the diet of a significant proportion of the world’s population.

The next prime minister of England should be … wait, is this a trick question? But I am compelled to say Boris Johnson.

Boris Johnson is … my choice for the next PM. Who can fall overboard while cleaning the river in a PR stunt and then gave an impromptu speech thereafter dripping wet? Beat that, Cameron!

Check out CK’s London Blog.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 13, 2009 8:15 am

    Hey Em,

    What a coincidence since I gave you Neverwhere as a pressie one year. You’ll have to bring it when you come back so I can read it 😀

    – Christine

    P.S. I watched Stardust on Foxtel the other day and reminisced about that arvo in Sydney when we had yum cha and watched it with Shu and DL…

    • October 13, 2009 8:19 am

      I know! I loved Neverwhere. I love Neil Gaiman and I loved Stardust. That was an awesome day. One we must recreate when I’m in Sydney which is in 72 sleeps – woooo hoooo!

Leave a Reply

