Skip to content

Are you a trashbag or a moaner?

October 13, 2009
Pete and me at a 'London Trash' dress-up party.

Pete and me at a 'London Trash' dress-up party.

I’ve been chewing over a few stereotypes of Australians in the UK. And to be completely general, (because I haven’t enough already with this blog), there seems to be two sorts of Aussie Expats: the Trashbag and the Moaner.

The Trashbag variety will live in West London or Clapham and spend every waking moment they can drinking and partying. Chances are that Belushis and Walkabout are their locals, and they may not have heard of the suburb Marleybone, or the country Poland. Every Sunday they go to The Church, an establishment where you can only buy drinks three at a time. To cater for this rule they only serve beer and Smirnoff black and you have to place drinks in to a plastic bag tied around your belt. Then you watch strip shows (both men and women) and stuff as much booze down your gullet in the four hours the venue is open. Trashbag Aussie Expats are so busy enjoying themselves in the UK that they have no time (or reason) to moan about British life.

Which brings me to the other type of Aussie: The Moaner. They’re the ones who come over to England to try and assimilate a bit more in to British culture but on realising that it is more different to back home than originally expected, get together and complain (which is a euphemism for bitch or whinge) about every nuance of English living.

You’ve guessed right if you think I belong to the latter. Hehe. But I’m learning to control my whinges because guess what? I love it here. I am having the time of my life. But sometimes I still bitch and whine. I’m going to say this once and get it out really quickly. Okay, here it goes … It’s rather cheeky that we call the English ‘whinging poms’ when we do like to complain about what’s wrong with England, a lot. Right, I’m glad I’ve got that off my chest so I can continue with slagging off the mother country.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Chloe permalink
    October 13, 2009 8:22 am

    I would call myself a nice blend… Like a cabernet sauvignon, or jager and redbull…

  2. October 13, 2009 8:22 am

    er, no offense but don’t you two look like that normally? Plus youse don’t look trashy anyway, put in some more effort kids!

    • October 13, 2009 8:24 am

      Hehe … Okay, I have put fake orange tan over my face and I am wearing a black bra under a fluoro top. Do I really look like that normally? AND, Pete is wasted – ahaha

      • May 8, 2017 11:19 pm

        All of these articles have saved me a lot of hedhacaes.

  3. October 13, 2009 8:23 am

    Oh yeah, I forgot the real reason why I was commenting – this ‘The Church’ sounds insane! Why didn’t you take me there when I was visiting? Hehe…

    • October 13, 2009 8:37 am

      Next visit I’ll take you 😉 To be honest I haven’t been. I heard about it from friends and my old flatmates who went along. Apparently the female strippers do interesting things with bananas 😀

  4. Kate permalink
    October 13, 2009 8:25 am

    I hope I am a trashbag. I hate complainers!

  5. Ben permalink
    October 13, 2009 8:25 am

    haha this is very similar to the americans i studied with in germany. But they do actually have a good reason to complain – being in any other country is a compromise to them 😛

  6. Tom permalink
    October 13, 2009 8:26 am

    Can i be both? Like Oscar the Grouch?

Leave a Reply

