Skip to content

Grey squirrels – the good, the bad and the ugly

October 26, 2009
IMG_6293

A photo I took in Hyde Park

I’m really enjoying London’s autumn and I’ve been exploring a lot of the parks and forests. There’s lots of crunchy red leaves and manic squirrels all over the place. I’ve only ever seen grey squirrels and boy are they cute. I mean, look at that tiny face. Absolutely adorable. It’s hard to imagine that anyone could think of this insy weensy creature as vermin. But people do because they were introduced from America in the late 1800s and are being blamed for the deterioration of the red squirrels.  It seems as though the reason they were introduced was for novelty value. I reckon they offer plenty of that, but  now some locals want to go at them with a shot gun. So cruel!  Or is it? Just last week I started to wonder what a squirrel would taste like because of a Northern Exposure episode  I watched where Maggie barbecues one because she’s stranded in the wilderness with Dr Fleischman. Now when I see one madly dashing around like it owns they world, I can’t help wondering what squirrel meat would taste like.

In Sydney I grew up next to Centennial Park and we got possums in our garden. The London squirrels sort of resemble the Centennial Park possums except the squirrels are smaller and bouncier. Also, I reckon if you put them up against each other in a fight a Sydney possum would kick a London squirrel’s arse. If they’re no good for eating, what if we introduced a possum to kill them all off? Just kidding. I don’t mind if the squirrels stick around. Even if it’s only purpose is to provide us humans with novelty value.

A photo I took in Greenwich

A photo I took in Greenwich

For more information on UK squirrels or to find out what to do with an injured or orphaned one, visit this site.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lesley permalink
    October 27, 2009 8:49 am

    poor little squirrel .. don’t eat him emma! – not even if he’s road-kill

  2. October 28, 2009 3:43 am

    And in Hyde Park (Sydney) we have viscious rats the size of cats! Now they would beat them all down in a fight. Including me.

Leave a Reply

