Skip to content

Expat Sat: Rebecca from Australia

October 31, 2009

image001

When did you move to the UK and why?

I have always been a bit of an anglophile, and living here allows me to travel round the UK and Ireland on the weekends. Also I was bored in Sydney and wanted to move to a country where I didn’t know anyone or have any connections – it makes things more exciting.

What was your first weird experience?

I haven’t really had one weird experience, but if I had to name something I guess it is realising how easily offended the English are generally. Despite all the Australians in London, they still haven’t picked up that when we say pants we mean trousers and thongs mean flip-flops. I’m trying to remember those two just so that I don’t get any more looks.

You worked for the same company in Sydney and London? How do they compare?

Both are friendly, but Australians approach work differently for sure – they are more straight forward and don’t have so many meetings. Londoners love meetings.

What do you miss the most about home?

My friends, for sure. I’ve had to cut back my swearing and dark humour a lot since moving here as it doesn’t seem to go down well!

Who are your fave English bands and writers?

The Kinks I think. I like a lot of the writers for the Times, like Sathnam Sanghera.

Which B grade British celebrity do you love to hate?

Kerry Katona. Whenever I’m having a bad day I just think of her latest shenanigans and I realise I’m doing okay after all.

What do you read on the tube?

I rarely use the tube as I walk to work, but when I do I pick up whatever newspaper is left on the seat, like the Metro.

Finish these sentences

The best things about the UK are … the innumerable places of historical significance, safe pubs, good transport system, great accents.

The best thing to come out of England is … Richard Attenborough (David’s not too bad either), BBC Radio 4, high tea.

The next prime minister of England should be … the Queen. She’d get the place back on track.

Boris Johnson is … well spoken, blond.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 13, 2009 8:08 pm

    lol I love your thoughts on the UK…Up North I think we are more relaxed and have a good sense of humour – and we swear a lot and nobody says anything hehe. I guess we do like work meetings here – a tme to have a brew and biscuits. But yeah, if you said Pants to me I’d think you meant underwear – and a thong has a totally different meaning here lol…

Leave a Reply

