Skip to content

The charms of Englishmen

November 17, 2009

englishmen

There is something quite delightful about Englishmen. It doesn’t matter what you look like, as long as you tell a joke, or have a laugh, foreign women will be charmed. How else would Hugh Grant be so popular? But what’s with the excessive apologising? And is this part of the charm?

The other day Pete and I met friends in Brick Lane. We were outside a cafe when we witnessed an attempted bike robbery. A skinny, unshaven man had stealthily picked up a bike and was about to ride off when the owner of the bike grabbed the handlebars and said, ‘Excuse me, I’m incredibly sorry but that’s my bike.’ The thief then replied with, ‘I’m sorry I was just mucking around.’ Everyone stared, knowing full well what was going on. This was Brick lane after all, a place notorious for selling stolen bikes. The two muttered a few more, ‘I beg your pardons’ and ‘I’m sorry’ until the thief walked away empty handed and the man strolled back to the cafe with his bike. My friend  and I looked at each other in utter bewilderment. What a cordial scene. Had that man just apologised to the thief for catching him stealing his bike? And had the thief then apologised to the man for being caught in the act? The answer to this was yes and yes. Welcome to England, the land of charming (but apologetic) Englishmen.

It reminded me of the scene in Bridget Jones’s Diary where Mr Darcy and Daniel Cleaver are in a fight. They smash through a restaurant window, wrestle on the tables and in between punches, excuse themselves to the diners around them. This fight scene is incredibly funny, but once you realise how close to home it is, it’s hilarious.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah permalink
    November 17, 2009 9:11 am

    Hugh Grant…. Mmmmmm

  2. Jean permalink
    November 17, 2009 2:42 pm

    i love the english accent…HOT :D~

  3. November 18, 2009 12:42 am

    I can’t stand floppy-haired, stuttering, apologetic English-men! Not charming at all. Give me a skin-head Chav any day. I am swooned and weak at the knees by the sound of ‘Alright love’
    🙂

  4. December 6, 2009 11:20 am

    ROLF! Wife and I had a huge laugh on this over breakfast. Thanks for brightening up our otherwise miserable cereals and milk!

    Reminds me of the ‘after you’, ‘no, after you’, ‘no, I insist’, ‘no, no, I insist you’…. when entering a door. That can take ages.

    C K

  5. Polish in Exeter permalink
    February 9, 2010 2:42 pm

    Your blog is fantastic!!! It’s soo funny;-)

    • February 9, 2010 2:47 pm

      Aw, thanks so much Polish in Exeter. Sometimes I worry that I’ve gone too far and offended the whole country – so your comment helps – hehe.

      Hope you’re enjoying your time in England 🙂

Leave a Reply

