Skip to content

Short Skirts and Shorts in Winter

December 4, 2009

Why, in winter, do the English girls wear short skirts? They don’t look hot, they just look stupid. What are they trying to prove? That they are tougher than the blokes who wear thermals under their jeans? That they are so ‘hot’ they’re not feeling the cold?

When I see people wearing climate inappropriate clothing I want to go up and slap them. They must be experiencing a winter denial. I am currently seeing cyclists wearing shorts in 6 to 7 degree weather. With additional wind chill that makes for some mighty cold legs. I don’t know how they do it.

Please note I have skillfully sourced a photo of a girl not only wearing a mini skirt but also riding a bike. She is in Amsterdam. London/Amsterdam – both in Europe.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 4, 2009 11:02 am

    mmm…I do wear short skirts in winter, but only with very thick tights underneath and long cardigans. Girls wearing shorts in winter is a lot worse…

  2. December 4, 2009 1:39 pm

    Awww… I like wearing short skirts and tights in winter!! I can’t wear them bare-legged in summer without looking awful, so winter is a perfect time to embrace the mini I think! You can go short but have your legs covered. Perfect.

    It also means summer items transfer to winter and don’t go to waste. I think the winter fashion here is brilliant, unlike Australia where we just wear jeans and hoodies and wait for summer to come back.

  3. December 6, 2009 10:20 am

    I ain’t complaining :p

    But honestly, it sure beats wearing thick frumpy cardigans.

    C K

  4. Kieran in Bristol permalink
    December 30, 2009 1:24 pm

    Hey!
    I’m knocking about in shorts as I type. Snow on the shins is a sensation to be savoured. As long as it’s not sleeting, shorts and skirts are the best option – less to get wet! Plus, people think you’re sh!t-nuts crazy and get out of the way on the street. As for skirts, I don’t really have the legs for a mini. I’m more of a tutu kind of guy anyway.
    Good to see you’re keeping up the keyboard tapping,
    K

Leave a Reply

