Skip to content

These are a few of my favourite English things

December 9, 2009

With my trip to Sydney looming I’ve started to think about the things I love  about England.

Books

People read more here. Yeah it may be trashy tabloids and things like The Sun but at least they’re reading. And books are cheap and everywhere. It’s a bookworm’s wet dream.

The People

The accents are so different and their sense of humour is great. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve met some duds but generally speaking you English are a good bunch and I’m proud to be a British citizen and a half pommie lassie.

Gatwick

This airport rocks! There’s space and a good train line (well it helps that it goes to Clapham). London is a perfect way to travel around Europe. And doing it from Gatwick is too easy.

Pies

I loved pies in Australia but they don’t do them there like they do here. Pete and I were taken to a fantastic pub in Kingston by Trish and Andrew. It’s called The Druids Head and it does specialty pies. I ordered mine with seeded mustard mash. It was so tasty I made it for a dinner party. Kids, do try this at home – it’s awesome.  Other highly recommended pies are Pieminister pies. I first stumbled across them with a colleague on our lunch break at the Convent Garden market. The pies will melt in your mouth and make you cry out in pleasure from your office desk. There’s a huge variety to choose from with interesting ingredients such as sherry, chorizo or vermouth.

Britain’s Got Talent

This show (aka BGT) is my guilty pleasure. The winners of this year’s contest were a dance group from Essex called Diversity (Susan Boyle was a graceful loser). Winning included performing at the Royal Variety show in front of the Queen. Wonder how she found those Essex boys? Talented? And my other secret confession is that I don’t mind host, Simon Cowell. It’s Piers Morgan who makes my skin crawl. Other  BGT acts I enjoyed were Flawless – a dance act in competition with Diversity (I preferred Flawless) – and Natalie Okri – who is beyond adorable and the cutest child singer ever. And If you’re after a laugh there’s the Stavros Flatly Irish Greek Dancers – a father and son act and the Faces of Disco – even Peter Andre features in this number.

Christmas

December in London is Magic. January and February … well, they hold less charm. There’s something so special about being rugged up to see the light display on Oxford Street, drinking mulled wine and eating warm Christmas food. For an Australian, you start to realise why all those people from the Northern Hemisphere who come to Australia for Christmas tease the shit out of us. In a dream world I would spend the lead up to Christmas in London but arrive home in Sydney just in time for Christmas Day. Oh wait, that’s what I’m doing – score!

Double Decker buses

Sitting at the top of a double decker bus never fails to amuse. It’s also a refreshing change from the tube and a good way to see London. I used to try and get the front seat but the windows are so revolting and grubby it’s best to sit second row from the front. When I’m up there, I think of the Beatles sitting up top, smoking cigarettes as they go into a day dream, or so the song went in A Day in the Life – one of my all time favourite songs since I was about fourteen.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 9, 2009 9:26 am

    Yeah…I missed book shops in Oz. There aren’t as many as here in Europe. I think cold weather and long winters force people to read more…Don’t you think?

  2. December 9, 2009 3:43 pm

    For sure. When you’re indoors in Oz and it’s hot and sunny you feel bad if you’re not out walking, going for a swim or picnic with friends etc.

  3. December 11, 2009 12:50 am

    My Kiwi colleague was a bit smug about being able to barbercue back home for Christmas… I don’t know, to me, Christmas seems odd without the biting cold. That’s the whole point, isn’t it? Siting with your pals in front of the fireplace (fine, a burning heater in some cases) and chatting with glass of wine.

    Christmas is just wrong without the cold. Then again, that’s just me.

    C K

Leave a Reply

