Skip to content

Pete’s English tunes in 2009

December 21, 2009

I love last.fm for many reasons. For one, it enables me to look back at 2009 and see who were my most listened to artists. Surprisingly six out of 10 are from England.

1. Röyksopp (Norway) – Their 2009 album Junior is their best and the best album of the year.

2. Air (France) – simply musical geniuses.

3. La Roux (Sounds French but actually from England). Best hair cut and most unique pop sound for 2009.

4. Muse (England) – one of the best live acts I’ve seen and a worthy winner of Triple J’s hottest 100 last year. Matthew Bellamy is one seriously talented musician (and his vocal range spans from an A2 to an A5 which sounds impressive).

5. Sting (England) – He is over the hill but I’ve only recently put some of his classics on to my iPod hence the high rotation.

6. Florence + The Machine (England) – fellow South Londoner. She can wail with the best of them and would give the ladies at Lewisham bus stop a run for their money.

7. Bon Iver (USA) – So very relaxing and ethereal.

8. Little Boots (England) – I was a tad surprised that she got onto my Top Ten and beat U2, Goldfrapp and Coldplay. I put it down to her addictive tracks like ‘Stuck on Repeat‘ and ‘New in Town.

9. Jamiroquai (England) – my favourite band of all time. New album rumored for 2010.

10. Phoenix (France) – their 2009 album Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix is one of their best.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 21, 2009 9:24 am

    My 2009 has five out of 10:

    1) Jane Austen- English (was an audio book)

    2) Ladyhawke – Kiwi

    3) Otis Redding – American

    4) David Bowie – English

    5) The Beatles – English

    6) Led Zeppelin – English

    8) Nat King Cole – American

    9) Lily Allen – English

    10) The Strokes/ Kings of Leon – American

    But my overall is seven out of 10.

  2. December 22, 2009 2:54 am

    La Roux and Bon Iver, two of my favourite bands of the year I think! Must be something about French names. Pete I bet you love the song ‘For Emma’!

  3. January 2, 2010 7:45 am

    Phoenix appear to be on so many peoples’ lists for favourite music of 2009. They could do really really well in taking out the Hottest 100.

    I compiled my top 10 votes as a Youtube playlist – take a look here http://bit.ly/4VijT1

  4. January 2, 2010 3:50 pm

    Nice one Chris, I’ve done my bit and voted in the Hottest 100. Good idea with the youtube playlist. The Friendly Fires mv is great.

    Pete

Leave a Reply

