Skip to content

Rude London Commuters

January 23, 2010

Sorry Martin but a few London commuters really get on my nerves. I know people joke about the killed or be killed attitude but some people are just plain rude. On several occasions, whilst waiting for a train or tube, I have seen people jump on board as soon as the doors have opened, pushing pass the people about to get out of the train. One time last week there was hardly anyone on the train yet this rude person felt the need to do it anyway. Why? What was there to gain? Did this guy have his own seat that he had to sit on? So of course I laughed at him way too loud, causing my colleague to give me a – what are you doing? stare. I just won’t stand for it. I don’t mind the occasional push and shove but this is ridiculous.

While I’m venting – a note to people who push in front of me at the oyster gates – don’t do it. People think, oh he has a bike and is going to be really slow. Actually – I have a bike to avoid been slow – fast is my middle name, my credo, fast is what I think about on the way to work. If I wanted to be slow I would walk, get the district line or (even worse) the bus.

People are not even nice about it. It seems completely acceptable to push in front of dismounted cyclists. So back off rude commuters or you might get a wheel up your arse.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2010 2:05 pm

    Had no complaints when I went there last time but from what you say it seems the stereotypical british queue-discipline is lost nowadays.

    • January 24, 2010 11:57 am

      The Brits are very polite in queues. For example, in post offices, pubs, supermarkets and even on buses. With trains, however, it’s another story. I don’t know why. It’s just one of those weird things.

  2. Paul permalink
    January 24, 2010 3:17 am

    You tell ’em Pete!

  3. michael sicurello permalink
    January 25, 2010 9:13 pm

    Bikes bring out the best and the worst in people.

    It can be handy to know who the neanderthals are… your bike will tell you.

Leave a Reply

