Skip to content

The UK Border Agency

January 31, 2010

Good news, I just got my VISA extension. I applied on a FLR(M) application which is for unmarried partners of British citizens. I was previously in the UK on a two year working holiday visa (the old one which only let me work for one year). The crux of the partner visa is that you have to prove that you and your partner have lived together for the last two years. Evidence includes bank statements, tenancy agreements and government correspondence addressed to both partners (or individually to the same address). Unfortunately, photos of Christmas with the family are not accepted.

My mistake was not to include any paperwork for the exact month two years ago (so January 2008). I had older correspondence but they were very strict when it came to covering the two year period. I also had a photocopied lease agreement which was not allowed. My application was put on hold during my appointment. I was worried I would lose my application fee but luckily, they gave me two weeks to submit the missing documents.

My advice for anyone thinking about applying for the married, unmarried, same sex, defacto visa extension is to start holding on to key mail that you can use as evidence of your relationship asap.

Lots of people suggested we just get married now but this would not have changed anything as I would still have needed to show the required residential evidence over the last two years.

The premium application appointment (you pay extra to find out on the day if you are successful) takes around three to four hours. Take a good book.

The process includes:

1) Lining up at a bank teller type queue. This person looks through your entire application to make sure all the key bits are there.

2) You then pay the hefty fee at another queue.

3) You are then allocated a number and wait in a massive hall for your number to be called.

4) A straight-out-of-school home office clerk does stuff with your passport and a computer.

5) You wait in the hall again.

6) Your biometric data is recorded (finger prints and photo).

7) You wait in the hall again.

8) A seasoned home office clerk goes through your application with a fine tooth comb – asking you questions about your relationship, checking signatures for irregularities and making sure all your documents are originals and not photocopies. As described earlier, this is where my application fell down. The office provided me with an address sticker and a letter telling me exactly what I needed to do. I followed the instructions and voila – my passport and visa were returned to me via recorded mail a week and a half later. I’m still waiting for the Identity Card but have been assured that it will arrive soon.

I thought this information might be helpful for other people applying for the FLR(M) visa. Enjoy and happy application.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 31, 2010 8:33 pm

    oooh, thanks for posting about that! I wouldn’t have known otherwise, until I guess it would have been too late! I tend to throw out a lot of paperwork on a semi regular basis if I don’t think I’ll need it, and I’m sure some of it would be useful in situations like this.
    I really enjoy reading the posts on this blog, btw. I’m an British born Australian recently returned to the UK, and a lot of the stuff on here are things I have wondered about/ whinged about a bit/ enjoyed. Its really nice to know others are thinking the same things!

Leave a Reply

