Skip to content

My weather is bigger than yours

February 3, 2010

A few English people have either commented or made a joke about there being no weather in Australia. My response is: Que? Me no comprehendo. How can a country be weather-less? Isn’t that like saying that Australia has no air? The weather is a state of atmosphere and call me arrogant but I’m pretty confident that Oz has a state of atmosphere.

So maybe I’m being too literal. Perhaps what the English mean is we have consistent weather. My response again is, Que? There are some English who visit Australia expecting every day of the year in any place will be warm and sunny. They come in the middle of winter and get a nasty shock which results in statements such as ‘I’ve never been so cold in my life as I was in Sydney/Melbourne.’ As I mentioned here, Sydney has a higher rainfall than London. And yes, it is cold in winter.

Australia has thunderstorms, hail storms, dust storms, floods, snow and cyclones. We also have drought and bush fires (although perhaps the English don’t include hot, dry weather as weather, it being an unknown phenomenon).

But I’ve got a feeling that none of this really matters to them. The English talk about weather a lot – I’ve written some tips here for foreigners wanting to discuss weather. And I’m realising that the English are competitive about their weather. So when they say that there’s no weather in Australia, their inner monologue is saying, ‘we’ve got more weather than you so suck on that!’

How extraordinary.

To read more about Australia’s weather go here and to watch some videos on severe Australian weather go here.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Paul permalink
    February 3, 2010 3:02 pm

    It’s the Meteorological Cringe. Deep down, you know your weather is monotonous and poorly scripted – like Neighbours to our Charles Dickens.

  2. Adam permalink
    February 4, 2010 3:33 pm

    I don’t believe that Australia doesn’t have weather, it sounds to me like a flippant thing to say, maybe in jest or in reaction to complaints about the weather in England. I wouldn’t take it to heart!

Leave a Reply

